Ebbw Vale & North Gwent


Meetings of our Ebbw Vale & North Gwent Branch are held at the Bethel Methodist Church, Wesley Place, Beaufort, Ebbw Vale, NP23 5JS.  Wesley Place is shown at the lower end of Upper Nelson Street (Stryd Nelson in Welsh).

Note that Beaufort Post Office is not on the south side of Beaufort Rise as shown, but on the north side at its junction with Stryd Nelson. The Post Office can be seen on the left of the image below and Bethel Methodist Church is the brown- and yellow-bricked building on the left of Wesley Place. Car parking space is usually available in Upper Nelson Street:

Beaufort: Bethel Methodist Church

Click here to examine this ‘Street View’ in more detail in Google Maps


Meetings are open to members and visitors alike and are held on the fourth Thursday of each month. Members’ Research evenings are held on the second Thursday of each month, to enable members to use the extensive branch research resources. In both cases, the meetings start at 7.00 p.m.

Please note the topics and/or speakers may have to be altered without prior notice. You can contact our Ebbw Vale and North Gwent Branch Secretary by emailing: secretary.ebb@gwentfhs.info

Our programme is currently as follows:


Jan 8 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Jan 22 Social Evening

Feb 12 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Feb 26  Ryland Wallace, The Suffragettes 7pm

Mar 12  Research (6 – 9 pm)

Mar 26 Tony Hopkins, Workhouse Records, 7pm

Apr 9 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Apr 23 Tim Ryan, The Aust Ferry,  7pm

May 14 Research (6 – 9 pm)

May 28 Roger James, Evacuation of Dunkirk 7pm

Jun 11 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Jun 25 Elizabeth Belcham, Bad Girls of Swansea,  7pm

Jul 9 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Jul 23 John Brewer, Dead, Dead, Dead – A Trilogy of Tragedies, 7pm – 9pm

Aug 13 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Aug 27 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Sep 10 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Sep 24 Peter Strong Solemn Sabbaths & Faraway Sundays 7pm

Oct 8 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Oct 22 David Maddox, Tonypandy Riots 7pm

Nov 12 Research (6 – 9 pm)

Nov 26 Don Balkwill, Grandma’s Gadgets Pt 2 7pm

Dec 10 Research (6 – 9 pm)


The Registration Districts and Sub-Districts shown in the following table are those originally allocated to the parishes as shown in the 1851 census.

Some parishes had changed by the 1911 census, and some new parishes had been created. For those details, and details of the towns, villages and hamlets within parishes, see the list of ‘Place Names In Wales: Monmouthshire’ in the 1911 Census section of the Association of Family History Societies of Wales website.

Abergavenny Abergavenny Abergavenny
Aberystruth Bedwellty Aberystruth
Bedwellty (part) Bedwellty Tredegar
Bettws Newydd Abergavenny Llanarth
Bryngwyn Abergavenny Llanarth
Bwlch Trewyn Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Clytha Abergavenny Llanarth
Cwmyoy Lower Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Cwmyoy Upper Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Fwthwg, Herefordshire Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Grosmont Dore (Herefordshire) -
Llanarth Abergavenny Llanarth
Llanddewi Rhydderch Abergavenny Llanarth
Llanddewi Skirrid Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Llanelen Abergavenny Abergavenny
Llanfair Kilgeddin Abergavenny Llanarth
Llanvapley Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Llanfihangel Crucorney Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Llanfihangel Juxta Usk Abergavenny Llanarth
Llangattock Lingoed Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Llangattock Nigh Usk Abergavenny Abergavenny
Llangua Dore (Herefordshire) -
Llanishen Monmouth Trellech
Llansanffraid Abergavenny Llanarth
Llantillio Crossenny Monmouth Dingestow
Llantillio PertholeyCitra Abergavenny Abergavenny
Llantillio PertholeyUltra Abergavenny Abergavenny
Llanvetherine Abergavenny Llanfihangel
Llanwenarth Citra Abergavenny Abergavenny
Oldcastle Abergavenny Llanfihangel